Monday, June 13, 2022

Meditation for Deep Sorrow

Meditation can help anyone who is grieving. Although there are five stages of grief, a person can benefit from meditation especially when they are in the anger stage of grieving. The first stage of grief is denial and not believing that someone had passed away. While the second stage of grief is anger with themselves or with the person that passed away. Therefore, meditation can help control the emotion of anger.

There are meditation techniques that will make you aware of your senses, and your thoughts, and question yourself regarding the feeling of anger. Practicing meditation will slowly release your anger and be able to manage it. Although each stage is difficult when it comes to grieving, meditation can help you release your frustrations, nervousness, anxiety, and other issues that cause the anger from grieving. You will be able to observe your body posture and face gestures when it changes from anger to neutral. When the anger stage has ended, you will feel a detachment or depression which is the third stage of grieving.

Meditation can also help with depression especially if it includes physical activity such as walking meditation, yoga, or any other movement exercise. Additionally, you can practice mindfulness which will facilitate you to pay attention more to the present moment. When you go through the grieving process, it is recommended to do your normal group activities. It is okay if you want to be alone but not for longer times throughout the month. The fourth stage of grieving is dialogue.

By the time you get to the fourth stage of grieving, it gets less overwhelming. You will be able to talk to someone about losing a loved one in normal conversations with anyone willing to listen to you. The fifth stage of grieving is acceptance. However, you do not have to stop meditating after you feel better from the grieving process. Meditation gives you an understanding of life’s cycle and to better cope with the acknowledgment of death.

You can practice meditation to accept that death is part of life. It does not change your good memories of your loved ones, but it allows you to remember them without feeling resentment that they are not here physically in the present moment. Practicing loving-kindness, gratitude, or any other type of meditation that helps you accept the changes that life brings, will help you feel better from the grieving process. If you cannot stop feeling depressed or have negative thoughts, consult with your therapist, or contact the suicide hotline. Here are resources about meditation for the grieving process. 

Lifeline-Suicide Prevention Lifeline Organization:

Lifeline (

The Five Stages of Grief-Very Well Mind:

The Five Stages of Grief (

Healing After a Loss with Grief Meditations: 

Healing After a Loss with Grief Meditations | Chopra

Guided Meditation for Grief-Declutter The Mind:

Guided Meditation for Grief - Declutter The Mind

A 12-Minute Meditation for Grief and Loss-Mindful

A 12-Minute Meditation for Grief and Loss - Mindful

* Free fonts and borders from Photo Collage Editor Maker

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comment.